Offending Dead People

Offending Dead People

I will be honest with you. I write blogs all the time. However very few do I post. I am worried that my thoughts may not be constructive for all people. I wrote at the beginning things I felt important. Yet I was challenged by others saying things like how does this make so and so feel?

At first response I despise political correctness and I was surprised they might be offended. For we are to die to ourselves. We are to live for Christ. If we harbor no thoughts or ambitions for our own progress and only focus on spreading the gospel to the world what could be said that would offend us? If we are dead, how do you offend a dead man?

The gospel will offend some. Even Jesus said in Matthew 10:34-39

34 “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. 35 For I have come to turn

“‘a man against his father,
a daughter against her mother,
a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law —
36     a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.’[c]

37 “Anyone who loves their father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves their son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. 38 Whoever does not take up their cross and follow me is not worthy of me. 39 Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.

The struggle I face today is the realization that very few Christians are dead to themselves. Many will be offended. Many hold on to Gods money wielding it as if it gives them a right to impart the will of God. So I ask you this question, should I speak as if I answer to God or as if I answer to those who support Gods work which I strive to do? How do you phrase your words, responsible to the spread of the Gospel or funding the ministry/ church /your Job?

If I have offended you in the past, I ask for your forgiveness for I thought you were dead to yourself.

Leave a comment